Follow Us
Network / newlifeoutlook / onehealthylifestyle

Gluten Free Diet

Diet tips for sufferers of gluten intolerance

Celiac disease is a condition in which the person is unable to properly digest gluten, the component of many common grains that holds them together. In fact, gluten actually damages the intestines of people with celiac disease. Fortunately, this disease has a simple cure that requires no medication: One simply needs to make sure they never consume gluten. This does require a bit of foresight and planning, but it doesn't need to be a drastic change. Many foods containing gluten can be made gluten-free if you cook them yourself.

Following a Gluten Free Diet

Following a gluten-free diet can be a challenge at first because it is a huge adjustment. Current medical advice says you should buy all new pots and pans, but plates, utensils and most other kitchenware should be safe. Be sure to check with your doctor.

Gluten-free diet recipes can be difficult to find and make at first, but if you use xanthium gum in place of gluten to hold baked goods together, you will have some great-tasting recipes. Another trick is to use at least one-third almond flour in recipes that call for flour. It's mildly sweet and tastes really good. Often, almond-flour recipes taste better than their gluten counterparts.

Gluten-free diet meals can be eaten at a friend's home or even in public. There are more and more bakeries that cater to the gluten-free population. You certainly don't need to bring your food everywhere to enjoy meals out with your friends or family. Be sure to call ahead and make sure the restaurant understands that your food cannot come in contact with any surface that has had wheat on it. This is called cross-contamination and is very harmful since you are still ingesting gluten.

A gluten-free diet plan can be easy to follow once you get into the routine. You can eat out and even at a friend's house with the proper precautions. A wheat and gluten-free diet seems very intimidating at first, but there are probably many foods you already eat that are gluten free, like fruits and veggies. Just be sure to check the label on prepackaged foods because they are not gluten-free if they are produced on the same equipment as foods containing gluten.